Yuvraj Singh named the captain of Sahara Pune Warriors

Yuvraj Singh will lead Sahara Pune Warriors

By CricketCountry Staff

Lucknow: Mar 8, 2011

Yuvraj Singh has been named the captain of the new Indian Premier League team Sahara Pune Warriors. Yuvraj was bought by the Sahara Group for $1.8 million in the IPL auction.

A release by Sahara Pune Warriors said, “The 30 member Sahara s Pune Warriors squad will be lead by captain of the team Mr Yuvraj Singh.”

The team includes South African captain Graeme Smith, Angelo Matthews, Jesse Ryder, Robin Uthappa, Ashish Nehra, Murali Kartik and Nathan McCullum.

“Sahara s Pune Warriors squad has been constituted with an intention to strike a balance between experience, exuberance, international expertise and promising talent of present and future,” said Abhijit Sarkar, Director of Sahara Adventure Sports.

Australia s Geoff Marsh will coach the team.

Pictures Getty Images