Zaheer Khan last played for India in New Zealand this year © Getty Images
Zaheer Khan last played for India in New Zealand this year © Getty Images

By Nishad Pai Vaidya

Sep 6, 2014

Zaheer Khan, the India fast-bowler, has been named in Mumbai’s Ranji Trophy 2014-15 probables. The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) announced 28 probables for the one-day and four-day matches on Saturday. The list also features Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Dhawal Kulkarni and Wasim Jaffer. Sarfaraz Khan, the India under-19 batsman has also been named in the 28-man pool.

Zaheer has had a few fitness issues this year and had to leave the Indian Premier League (IPL) mid-way through the season due to injury worries. Zaheer had been a part of India’s Test squads to South Africa and New Zealand. His last Test was against New Zealand at Wellington. Though he had an effect in patches, he wasn’t very successful in his comeback. Subsequently, he was not considered for the England tour.

Rahane and Rohit have been named in the list, but international commitments may keep them away from domestic cricket for a major part. The West Indies will tour India after the Champions League T20 and then India head to Australia for a Test and a one-day tri-series followed by the ICC World Cup 2015. It is unlikely that they will play for Mumbai this season. Kulkarni’s availability would depend on whether he is picked for India or not.

Sarfaraz has been picked after impressing in age group tournaments. Akhil Herwadkar, who opened for India in the under-19 World Cup this year, is also in the side. The other known faces include Abhishek Nayar, Aditya Tare, Shreyas Iyer and Iqbal Abdulla.

Mumbai’s probables for the domestic season:

Wasim Jaffer, Ajinkya Rahane, Abhishek Nayar, Aditya Tare, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Sarfaraz Khan, Akhil Herwadkar, Wilkin Mota, Siddhesh Lad, Hiken Shah, Sushant Marathe, Vinit Indulkar, Sufiyan Sheikh, Bravish Shetty, Badre Alam, Shreyas Iyer, Kevin D’Almeida, Zaheer Khan, Aavishkar Salvi, Shardul Thakur, Dhawal Kulkarni, Iqbal Abdulla, Kshemal Waingankar, Saurabh Netravalkar, Vishal Dabholkar, Javed Khan,Praful Waghela.