Zimbabwe decide to bat first against New Zealand

Zimbabwe have decided to bat first against New Zealand.

By CricketCountry Staff

Ahmedabad: Mar 4, 2011

Zimbabwe captain Elton Chigumbura won the toss and decided to bat first against New Zealand in their World Cup Group A match at the Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad.

Chris Mpofu and Sean Williams of Zimbabwe are not playing in the match due to injuries, and have been replaced by Regis Chakabva and Tinashe Panyangara. For New Zealand, pacer Kyle Mills has replaced Jamie How.

The match is important for both New Zealand and Zimbabwe to advance to the second round, as they are tied up at fourth and fifth place respectively in Group A with two points each after one loss and one win, and are seperated only by net run-rate.


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum (wk), Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, James Franklin, Daniel Vettori (c), Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Hamish Bennett, Tim Southee.

Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor, Charles Coventry, Tatenda Taibu (wk), Craig Ervine, Elton Chigumbura (c), Regis Chakabva, Gregory Lamb, Graeme Cremer, Prosper Utseya, Ray Price, Tinashe Panyangara.

Pictures Getty Images