Zimbabwe retain squad for Pakistan series

Zimbabwe will play one Test, three ODIs and two Twenty20 internationals against Pakistan AFP

By CricketCountry Staff

Bulawayo: Aug 30, 2011

Zimbabwe have retained almost the same squad which played against Bangladesh earlier this month for their home series against Pakistan starting on Thursday.

Seamer Keegan Meth is the only player to be ruled out of the series from Zimbabwe after he suffered laceration on the lower lip. He lost three upper-row teeth after being hit in the mouth off Bangladesh batsman Nasir Hossain in the final One-Day International on August 21, News Day reported.

“It s basically the same squad that we named for the Bangladesh series with the exception of Keegan Meth who is still recovering from that nasty injury. So the 14 players we named the last time remain the same and we will be naming the 15th player on the eve of the match, depending on the conditions at the match venue and the performances from the practice match,” said Zimbabwe Cricket chairman of selectors Alistair Campbell.

Left-arm fast bowler Brian Vitori, who missed last two ODIs against Bangladesh due to injury, is all set to make his return.


Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor (c), Regis Chakabva, Elton Chigumbura, Craig Ervine, Kyle Jarvis, Hamilton Masakadza, Tino Mawoyo, Christopher Mpofu, Ray Price, Vusi Sibanda, Tatenda Taibu (wk), Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (c), Aizaz Cheema, Azhar Ali, Junaid Raja, Shoaib Malik, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Younis Khan, Adnan Akmal, Imran Farhat, Mohammad Hafeez, Seed Ajmal, Sohail Khan, Taufeeq Umar, Yasir Shah