Zimbabwe win toss, elect to bowl against Bangladesh in 2nd Test at Harare

Zimbabwe trounced Bangladesh in the first Test by 335 runs © AFP

Harare: Apr 25, 2013

Zimbabwe skipper Brendan Taylor won the toss against Bangladesh and elected to field first in the second Test at Harare on Thursday.

Zimbabwe won the first Test at the same venue by a huge 335 runs. A magnificent performance by skipper Taylor helped the hosts trounce the visitors.

The Asian side came into the series as hot favourites after improved performances in Sri Lanka, only to be bowled out for 134 and 147 as they lost the first Test to Zimbabwe by 335 runs at Harare Sports Club.

With the second Test being played on the same ground another green-tinged pitch is expected, and Bangladesh will need to show far greater durability against Zimbabwe’s talented but inexperienced pace attack if they are to come away from the series with some dignity.

Zimbabwe have made one change – Regis Chakabva, who replaces injured Timycen Maruma.

Bangladesh have sport four changes in the squad. Tamim Iqbal, Mominul Haque, Sajidul Islam and Ziaur Rahman have been included.

Sajidul will be playing his first Test in five years.


Zimbabwe: V Sibanda, RW Chakabva, H Masakadza, BRM Taylor (c), MN Waller, R Mutumbami (wk), E Chigumbura, AG Cremer, KO Meth, KM Jarvis, SW Masakadza

Bangladesh: Jahurul Islam, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (c&wk), Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Ziaur Rahman, Sajidul Islam, Robiul Islam

Catch live scores of the first day’s play of the second Test between Zimbabwe and Bangladesh here