The prestigious Allan Border Medal ceremony of Australia was celebrated on Wednesday and like every year, this year too was filled with surprises. The ceremony is considered as one of the most prestigious award functions to take place in Australia’s sporting space.

David Warner bagged the headlines with his double strike as he claimed the prestigious Allan Border Medal along with Test Player of the Year Award. He surpassed his Test skipper Steve Smith only to shot to newer heights. Warner has been in the form of his life in the recent times, as his consistency in the whites has been sensational to watch. Warner scripted history when he became the only third cricketer to have plundered a ton in both the innings of a Test match on three occasions.

Further, Ellyse Perry won the Belinda Clark award for her prolific run in women’s cricket. Glenn Maxwell, who has been tagged as the Twenty20 (T20) specialist across the globe, stunned the cricket fraternity when he won the One-Day International (ODI) Player of the Year Award. Maxwell has been instrumental in the shorter format for Australia and has reaped fruits for the hard yards he has put in.

Adam Voges was named as the Domestic Player of the Year Award for his consistency in the domestic circuit. It was his steadiness in the domestic games which chiselled his path into the Test side. Alex Ross bagged the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year Award for his supremacy at a tender age of 23. With this award, he joins the elite club of Brett Lee, Shane Watson and David Warner. The award ceremony capped off with the induction of pace legend Jeff Thomson and wicket-keeper the late Wally Grout into the Australian cricket’s Hall of Fame.