After establishing itself as a premier ICC tournament with the unprecedented success it got in the first two editions, the ICC World T20 returned with its third edition in 2010 which was hosted by West Indies. With the year 2011 being reserved for the 50-over World Cup in Asia, the gap between the second and the third editions of World T20 was just 10 months, which meant Pakistan held the title for the shortest period, as England beat Australia in the final to win their historic first-ever global ICC title. The tournament marked the beginning of a new era in English cricket, as the team went on to dominate Test cricket in the years to come and emerged as a new force in limited-overs cricket.

The format of the tournament remained the same, as 12 teams participated in it and were divided into four groups of three teams each. Top two teams from each of these groups then went on to play the Super 8 stage, where they were placed in two groups of four teams each. From here, once again top two teams progressed to the semi-finals. For India, the tournament was once again forgettable one, just as the previous edition in England. The team could not repeat the history of 2007 and bowed out of the competition after failing to win a single match in the super 8 stage.

England, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Australia made it to the final-four. While England went past Sri Lanka with utter ease, the Pakistan-Australia match was a nail-biter, where ‘Mr. Cricket’ Michael Hussey scored the required 34 runs in 12 balls and further 18 off the final over by unleashing a flurry of sixes. Pakistan thus crashed out and could not make it to what would have been their third consecutive final in the mega event. Australia could not repeat the performance in final, which turned out to be rather one-sided, with England completing a famous win.

Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardene finished as the highest run-getter while Australian paceman Dirk Nannes was the highest wicket-taker in the tournament. For India, the only thing worth mentioning was Suresh Raina becoming the first Indian to score a T20I ton. Maverick cricketer Kevin Pietersen was adjudged as the player of the series for his scintillating batting throughout the competition.

Designed by Neeraj Kathale | Infographics by Chinmay Jawalekar


(A self-confessed cricket freak, Chinmay Jawalekar is a senior writer with CricLife and CricketCountry. When not writing or following cricket, he loves to read, eat and sleep. He can be followed here @CricfreakTweets)