Infographic: Kagiso Rabada sweeps major CSA awards for 2016

It was the night, which was known as Cricket South Africa‘s (CSA) annual dinner but as the ceremony progressed, it went on to become Kagiso Rabada award’s night. The purpose of this annual dinner was to celebrate Cricket South Africa’s 25 years and give out awards to the South African cricketers for their hard work throughout the year, irrespective of the format and level of the game.

Pacer Rabada sealed six awards and became first player to do that in the history. It has been just over a year since Rabada made his international debut and he has already made a big impact. Apart from Rabada, leggie Imran Tahir was the only one grab a prestigious award in the form of T20 Cricketer of the year as Rabada scooped all similar awards in other international formats. Also Read: Hashim Amla, Wayne Parnell photobombed by ‘Batman’

There was another addition in international cricketer awards, which went to Stephen Cook, who recently made his Test debut against England at Centurion and scored 140.  Cook was competing with another newcomer Temba Bavuma for this award. Coming to domestic cricket, stalwarts Alviro Petersen and all-rounder Albie Morkel showed some excellent performance in List A and domestic T20s. In First-Class cricket, batsman Heino Kuhn bagged two awards and it was fair as well as he averaged 57.95 in 2015-16 season.

Dane van Niekerk won the Women’s cricketer of the year. Let us have a look at the annual awards distribution by CSA.

Designed by Jyoti Desale