Virat Kohli, Joe Root and other CEAT cricket awards 2016 recipients

A day after the final game of the ninth season of Indian Premier League (IPL) between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at Bengaluru, few young cricketers were honoured by CEAT on the basis of their performance in this year. As expected, India’s star batsman Virat Kohli was named the CEAT T20 player of the year for his tremendous batting during the period.

England batsman Joe Root bagged two awards in his name; one for international cricketer of the year and the other for international batsman of the year. After Root, New Zealand opener Martin Guptill and skipper Kane Williamson were the only other overseas players to be awarded. Guptill got ODI player of the year award, while Williamson bagged Test cricketer of the year award. Both Guptill and Williamson have been the pillars of New Zealand cricket team since Brendon McCullum’s retirement.

India’s leading spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was awarded with International bowler of the year, while opener Rohit Sharma was named Indian cricketer of the year. Rohit was phenomenal in the beginning of the year as he scored 441 runs against Australia in their backyard.

Former Indian captain and part of 1983 World Cup winning team — Dilip Vengsarkar was honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award. The 60-year-old former cricketer has scored 6,868 runs in Tests, which include 17 centuries and hat-trick of hundreds in successive appearances at Lord’s.

On the domestic front, Shreyas Iyer was excellent with his bat in last Ranji Trophy season. He amassed record breaking 1,321 runs in the season and was awarded with domestic cricketer of the year award. India’s star under-19 batsman Rishabh Pant got the young player of the year award.

Designed by Jyoti Desale
Designed by Jyoti Desale