Wes Hall inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame
Wes Hall (right) is inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame by Courtney Walsh (left) during Day One of the Second Test match between Australia and the West Indies at Sabina Park on June 11, 2015 in Kingston, Jamaica.

Wesley Hall, the legendary West Indian fast bowler, was inducted into the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Cricket Hall of Fame on Thursday. He is 18th West Indian to receive the honour in a field of 80 players worldwide.

Hall received his commemorative cap from fellow ICC Cricket Hall of Famer, Courtney Walsh, during lunch break on the opening day of the second cricket Test between the West Indies and Australia at the Sabina Park. Also present at the ceremony were ICC Director and West Indies Cricket Board President Dave Cameron, Clive Lloyd and Sir Everton Weekes.

Hall is the fourth cricketer this year to be inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame after Betty Wilson, Anil Kumble and Martin Crowe, who were inducted earlier this year during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

Commenting on his inclusion into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame, Hall said; “I feel privileged and indeed honoured to be given this tremendous award. I have noted the list and it has some tremendous cricketers /— heroes who have made the game what it is today. So, I am humbled to be included among these many greats of the game. Anytime you get these kind of encomiums, it is memorable. It is fantastic to receive the award in the West Indies and in front of adoring fans, which makes it even more special. I have represented the West Indies as a cricketer, as the team manager, and as the President of the WICB, so I will treat this as something I value and will always remember. Fast bowling was my hallmark and I enjoyed my moments on the cricket field. I enjoyed representing the people of the West Indies and contributing towards the development of the game and the region. Cricket has been extremely good to me and I was happy to give back to the game. This honour, presented to me by the ICC, is one I will cherish. It is not just for me but for the people of the West Indies.”

Hall, born on September 12, 1937, played in 48 Tests between 1958 and 1969 in which he took 192 wickets, including five wickets in an innings nine times and 10 wickets in a match on one occasion. In 170 First-Class matches, Hall claimed 546 wickets at an average of 26.14.
After retirement, he became an ordained minister as well as the Minister of Tourism and Sport in the Barbados government. He also managed West Indies touring sides and in 2001 took over as the President of the West Indies Cricket Board.

The process for the selection of players into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame started in 2014, when the ICC Chairman invited all the living ICC Cricket Hall of Famers to send their nominations to the ICC. The ICC Nominations Committee then reduced the long-list to 10 men and three women. The short-list was then sent to the Voting Academy, which included representatives of all the 10 Full Members, media representatives from all the 10 Full Members, Associate & Affiliate Members, women’s cricket and FICA representatives as well as living ICC Hall of Famers. The ICC collated the nominations and forwarded the ballot papers to the auditors who provided the final results.


ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

Initial inductees (55)

Sydney Barnes, Bishan Bedi, Alec Bedser, Richie Benaud, Allan Border, Ian Botham, Geoffrey Boycott, Donald Bradman, Greg Chappell, Ian Chappell, Denis Compton, Colin Cowdrey, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Lance Gibbs, Graham Gooch, David Gower, WG Grace, Tom Graveney, Gordon Greenidge, Richard Hadlee, Walter Hammond, Neil Harvey, George Headley, Jack Hobbs, Michael Holding, Leonard Hutton, Rohan Kanhai, Imran Khan, Alan Knott, Jim Laker, Harold Larwood, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Clive Lloyd, Hanif Mohammad, Rodney Marsh, Malcolm Marshall, Peter May, Javed Miandad, Keith Miller, Bill O’Reilly, Graeme Pollock, Wilfred Rhodes, Barry Richards, Vivian Richards, Andy Roberts, Garfield Sobers, Brian Statham, Fred Trueman, Derek Underwood, Clyde Walcott, Everton Weekes, Frank Woolley, Frank Worrell

2009-10 Inductees (five)

Herbert Sutcliffe, Steve Waugh, Wasim Akram, Victor Trumper and Clarrie Grimmett

2010-11 Inductees (four)

Rachael Heyhoe-Flint, Ken Barrington, Courtney Walsh and Joel Garner


2011-12 Inductees (four)

Belinda Clark, Frederick Spofforth, Curtly Ambrose and Alan Davidson


2012-13 Inductees (four)

Enid Bakewell, Brian Lara, Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne


2013-14 Inductees (four)

Adam Gilchrist, Debbie Hockley, Bob Simpson and Waqar Younis


2014-15 Inductees (four)

Anil Kumble, Betty Wilson, Martin Crowe and Wesley Hall.