Players from five different countries have been nominated at this year’s fifth LG People’s Choice Award to win the only award voted for by the public. The players nominated for the award are England women’s captain Charlotte Edwards, Australian fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sri Lankan skipper Angelo Mathews and South African fast bowler Dale Steyn.

Fans will have the opportunity to decide the winner by voting for their favourite player either via or via Twitter using the hashtag #lgiccawards. Voting for the LG People’s Choice Award is now open and will close at midnight (UAE time) on October 30. The winner, as well as the International Cricket Council (ICC) Test and One-day International (ODI) teams of the year and the short-list for the remaining LG ICC Awards 2014, will be announced on November 5 at a press conference at the ICC Headquarters in Dubai, reported DNA.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson and ICC Cricket Committee chairman Anil Kumble will be attending the press conference. The short-list was nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts, headed by Kumble. Other members of the panel are Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a respected broadcaster/journalist, ex-Sri Lankan opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming and former chair of the ICC Women’s Committee Betty Timmer.

The five players were selected by the panel using the criteria set out by LG and the ICC, which required that the nominees have displayed attributes regarded by LG as being in line with its corporate qualities, such as innovation, dynamism, strength in decision-making, performing well under pressure and executing a plan to distinction.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said, “The support of the fans is vital for the game and particularly valued by the players – hence, the significance of the LG People’s Choice award. The overwhelming number of cricket fans who participate to select the winner of this award has made it one of the most prestigious awards in the ICC calendar.”

“None of the deserving nominees have won this award before and this year’s fan favourite will join the exclusive company of previous winners, Sachin Tendulkar (2010), Kumar Sangakkara (2011 and 2012) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2013),” he added.