Indian selectors retained Zaheer Khan in 17-member squad announced for the upcoming tour of South Africa. However they left out senior opening batsman Gautam Gambhir from the squad.

Among the other surprise selections, Wriddhiman Saha was selected as the second wicketkeeper in the side ahead of Tamil Nadu player Dinesh Karthik.

They Indian selectors said that all the players were unanimously chosen by the committee.

India is set to play three One-Day Internationals (ODI) and two Tests against South Africa in the upcoming tour.

The committee also selected a 17-member squad for the ODI series.