ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: Australia vs New Zealand final in Melbourne in caricatures

It was a night of history at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). Australia won the World Cup for the fifth time when they beat New Zealand by seven wickets in the final. It was a record-breaking crowd at MCG which witness their home side dominating the game from start to end to clinch yet another World Cup title.

On the big day, New Zealand had won the toss and chose to bat first. The idea was right to put runs on the board and ask the opposition to chase under immense pressure. But Australia had other ideas when they reduced New Zealand to three for 39 by the 13th over. The attacking cricket from the Kiwis had to take a backseat as they re-grouped to set a total for their bowlers. A partnership of  111 runs partnership between Ross Taylor (40) and semi-final hero Grant Elliott (83) brought the Black Caps back into the game — but not for long. The Australian bowlers soon made the breakthrough and restricted New Zealand to 183 all out in 45 overs. The collapse from 150 for four to 183 all out may have dented their confidence. Mitchell Johnson (three for 30) and James Faulkner (three for 36) made the inroads, aided by Micthell Starc (two for 20). (Australia vs New Zealand: Pick of the tweets)

The chase was all too easy for Australia with the massive home support. They were jolted early, but David Warner (45) continued his attack which sure pushed the New Zealand bowlers back. The 112-run match-winning partnership between Steve Smith (56 not out) and captain Michael Clarke (74) put Australia on road to victory. Australia got to 186 for three in 33.1overs. (Read: Michael Clarke: Bowing out of the ODI arena like a true champion)


The New Zealand bowlers tried their best, but it wasn’t enough on the given day. Matt Henry (two for 46) and Trent Boult (one for 40) were the only bowlers to pick the three Australian wickets.

James Faulkner was awarded the man-of-the-match, while Micthell Starc was awarded the man-of-the-tournament for the 22 wickets. Martin Guptill ended as the tournament’s highest run-getter with 547 runs. Michael Clarke (2015) joined Allan Border (1987), Steve Waugh (1999), Ricky Ponting (2003, 2007) as Australian captains to win World Cup. The mega event bids a goodbye until the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, which will be played in the home of cricket, England.



Brief Scores:

New Zealand 183 all out in 45 overs (Grant Elliott 83, Ross Taylor 40; Mitchell Johnson 3-30, James Faulkner 3-36) lost to Australia 186 for three in 33.1 overs (Michael Clarke 74, Steve Smith 56 not out; Matt Henry 2-46) – by seven wickets