Virat Kohli, with his 149 in the first innings of the first Test of the five-match series between India and England at Edgbaston, has silenced his critics in a big way. His 225-ball effort helped India get close to England s first inning total of 287 and en route his maiden Test century in England, the Indian captain surpassed quite a few personal milestones.


Hundreds by Indian captains in England:

Kohli s 149 is now the second highest individual score by an Indian captain in England after Mohammad Azharuddin s 179 at Old Trafford in 1990. The next best scores by Indian captains in England are 148 by MAK Pataudi at Leeds, 1967, 128 from Sourav Ganguly at Leeds in 2002 and 121 by Azharuddin at Lord’s in 1990.

INDIA vs ENGLAND 2018 schedule and results page

Fewest innings to 22 Test 100s:

Kohli became the fourth fastest to 22 Test hundreds, reaching the milestone in 113 innings. Sir Don Bradman holds the record of scoring 22 hundreds in the quickest time, just 58 innings. Second best is Sunil Gavaskar (101) followed by Steve Smith (108). Kohli comes in at fourth followed by Sachin Tendulkar (114) and Mohammad Yousuf (121).

Day 2 Report: India piggyback on Kohli s 149

Most 100s as Test captain:

Kohli s 22nd Test hundred – his 15th as captain – moves him up to third, which is tied with Australians Allan Border, Steve Waugh and Smith in terms of most Test centuries as captain. The tally is led by South African Graeme Smith (25) followed by Ricky Ponting (19).

Gallery: Virat Kohli, Sam Curran dominate

Fastest to 7000 runs:

Kohli has now completed 7,000 runs in international cricket (Tests, ODIs and T20Is) as a captain – the quickest to achieve the feat.

DAY 2: Scorecard

Elite company:

Kohli joins an elite club of Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and Azharuddin as the only Indian players to score at least one century each in South Africa, England, New Zealand and Australia

Missing 150 by one run:

Kohli also found himself in an unwanted list of Test captains missing 150 by one run. Other captains to have missed 150 by one run are Bob Wyatt (England), 1935, Clive Lloyd (West Indies) in 1975, Saeed Anwar (Pakistan) in 1996, Carl Hooper (West Indies ) in 2001 and Ponting (Australia) in 2005.