The minnows look to make a mark in ICC T20 World Cup 2016

Netherlands will try to shake off their underdog tag in this edition of ICC World T20 2016. They looked impressive in the last edition beating England by 45 runs (a team they had also beaten in 2009), bundling them up under 100. But after that it was a no-show for them. Before that, they put a stunning show against Ireland which ended up in chasing down 190 in under 14 overs to become a sensation. This was the third time they were able to qualify for World T20. They need to put in a lot of effort to qualify in a group studded with recent sensation Bangladesh and a revengeful Ireland. They have been successful against England alone in 2009 and 2014, a couple of times they qualified.

The Dutchmen haven’t been able to do justice to their talent and inexperience in recent past. Their Batting has the firepower but gets throws away their wickets due to lack of temperament in tight situations. Their main woes revolve around bowling, they haven’t been able to identify the right length to bowl when the batsman gets going. Peter Borren is backing his bowlers to bowl a test length just outside the off stump, pitching up to the batsman and inviting him to drive. Sticking to the basics might just do the trick for the minnows to enter the big picture.Ahsan Malik has proved his worth in last few endeavours picking up wickets and not leaking runs in the process.

Key Players: Peter Borren is the most impactful  having played the role of both captain and top-order batting all-rounder, handy in tense situations. He was one of the top scorers against Netherlands’ famous chase against Ireland. Mudassar Bukhari is one of the most experienced and successful front-line bowler in the Dutch camp. Stephan Myburgh is a strong middle-order batsman who will prove to be quite handy for big hitting in middle overs.The main highlight of the Dutch side will, of course, be Roelof van der Merwe, the South African all-rounder. He may act as trump card in the crucial qualifier against Bangladesh and Ireland. The Cooper duo would also be crucial for the alter stages of the game.

Netherlands Squad: Peter Borren (c), Wesley Barresi (wk), Ben Cooper, Tom Cooper, Michael Rippon, Roelof van der Merwe, Vivian Kingma, Timm van der Gugten, Stephen Myburgh, Mudassar Bukhari, Pieter Seelaar, Logan van Beek, Max O’Dowd, Ahsan Malik, Paul van Meekeren.

(Arun Rawal is a reporter at CricketCountry)