Sachin Tendulkar retirement: 10 greatest awards won by the iconic cricketer

Sachin Tendulkar will retire from Test cricket after the two-match series against the West Indies © AFP

By Nishad pai Vaidya

Oct 10, 2013

Sachin Tendulkar has been bestowed upon a number of honours and awards during his celebrated career. Be it civilian honours from governments or those from cricketing authorities, Tendulkar has had it all and possesses an enviable trophy cabinet. Off late, there was a clamour for him to be given India’s highest civilian award — the Bharat Ratna.

Nishad Pai Vaidya lists ten of Tendulkar’s most cherished honours:

1. Padma Vibhushan

Tendulkar received India’s second-highest civilian honour in May 2008.

2. Padma Shri

A 25-year-old Tendulkar was awarded the Padma Shri after a stellar 1998 — during which he dominated both formats and tormented bowlers.

3. Honourary Group Captain in the Air Force

On September 3, 2010, the Indian Air Force confers on him the rank of Honorary Group Captain. He became the first man from a non-aviation background to win such an honour.

4. Arjuna Award

At the age of 21, Tendulkar had already established himself in the Indian team and was counted amongst the best players in the world. The Indian government recognised that when they gave him the Arjuna Award in 1994.

5. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

In the midst of a phenomenal 1998, Tendulkar was awarded India’s highest sporting honour in August that year. Tendulkar and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (who won it for 2007-08) are the only cricketers who have won the award.

6. Order of Australia

Tendulkar has been an international icon and commands a great fan following all over the world. Australia in particular have always appreciated him despite being at the receiving end of some of his great knocks. Crowds in Australia gave him a standing ovation whenever he walked out to bat to express an unparalleled regard. Recognising that, the Australian government awarded him the Order of Australia (AM) this year.

7. Maharashtra Bhushan

Hailing from Mumbai, Tendulkar has been the pride of Maharashtra right since his international debut. In 2001, the state government decorated him with Maharashtra’s highest civilian honour.

8. ICC Player of the Year – Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy

At the age of 37, Tendulkar was defying the odds and scoring runs at a torrential rate. In 2010, he was awarded the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Player of the Year. With that honour, he became the oldest recipient of an ICC Award.

9.Indian Cricketer of the Year

In 2011, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) awarded Tendulkar the Indian Cricketer of the Year for a fantastic 2009-10 season. This award came in the aftermath of India’s memorable 2011 World Cup victory.

10. Wisden Cricketer of the Year and Wisden Leading Cricketer of the Year

Tendulkar won the Wisden Cricketer of the Year award in 1997. However, for the great 2010 season, he was named the Leading Cricketer of the Year by cricket’s oldest almanac.

(Nishad Pai Vaidya is a Correspondent with CricketCountry and anchor for the site’s YouTube Channel. His Twitter handle is @nishad_44)

Sachin Tendulkar Retirement