2nd T20I: Dickwella, Udana in as Sri Lanka bowl in Gabba
Niroshan Dickwella comes into Sri Lanka's Playing XI (AFP Image)

Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat in the second Twenty20 against Australia at the Gabba in Brisbane on Wednesday. The home team won the first match emphatically in Adelaide on Sunday, thrashing the visitors by 134 runs with David Warner smashing a century.

It was Australia’s biggest-ever win in the format and Sri Lanka’s heaviest T20 defeat. The Gabba pitch is expected to offer more bounce than Adelaide, which should play in Australia’s favour. But they are without pace spearhead Mitchell Starc, who is skipping the match to attend his brother’s wedding, with Billy Stanlake drafted in as his replacement.

“I was a bit undecided. I was leaning towards batting first. But there feels like there’s some dew around in the last half an hour. So that was swaying me to bowl. Bowling first, I’m not too disappointed. Billy Stanlake comes in. He can get bounce out of most pitches. It’s exciting for him on his home ground,” Australia captain Aaron Finch said after the toss.

Defeat in Adelaide was a tough pill to swallow for Sri Lanka, who arrived in Australia on the back of a 3-0 series win, with a second-string side, against Pakistan. They have made three changes with Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando and Kasun Rajitha all omitted, with Avishka Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella and Isuru Udana replacing them.

“I think it will help us play a little more free. The important thing is we adjust to the conditions. We have made three changes. Oshada, Bhanuka and Kasun Rajitha are not playing. Avishka, Dickwella and Isuru have come in,” Lasith Malinga said.

After Brisbane, Australia face the visitors in Melbourne on Friday before Pakistan arrive for T20s in Sydney, Canberra and Perth.

Playing XIs:

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), David Warner, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Alex Carey, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Billy Stanlake, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa

Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Lasith Malinga (capt), Isuru Udana