Breaking News

    Afghanistan drop Mujeeb Ur Rahman for Ireland Test, Mohammad Shahzad not picked for T20Is

    Afghanistan drop Mujeeb Ur Rahman for Ireland Test, Mohammad Shahzad not picked for T20Is

    The Afghanistan-Ireland series, which consists of one Test, 3 T20Is and 5 ODIs, will be played in Dehradun.

    Updated: February 7, 2019 7:42 PM IST | Edited By: CricketCountry Staff

    Afghanistan team selectors on Thursday dropped Mujeeb Ur Rahman from the squad that will play Ireland in one-off Test. The 17-year-old, who was a part of the Afghanistan squad in their inaugural Test match against India last year, though found a place in the T20I and ODI squads for the Ireland series which will take place in India. Mohammad Shahzad, meanwhile, failed to make a cut to the T20I squad and was picked in the Test and ODI squad.

    The selection committee also added three new faces in the side all-rounder Sharafuddin Ashraf (T20I and Test), left-arm pacer Waqar Salamkheil (Test) and batsman Ikram Ali Khil (ODI and Test). (ALSO READ: In Afghanistan, nothing but cricket can bring such a smile: Rashid Khan)

    Afghanistan is scheduled to face Ireland in a Test, 3 T20Is and 5 ODIs. While the series will kick off with a T20I on 21st February, the final match of the tour, a Test, will commence on March 15. All the matches will be played in Dehradun. (ALSO READ: Rashid Khan has made an impact on current generation of legspinners: Sandeep Lamichhane)

    The Test of this series will be the second Test for both Ireland and Afghanistan. While Ireland played their maiden Test last year when they hosted Pakistan in Malahide Cricket Club Ground in Dublin, Afghanistan made their Test debut against India at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru in 2018. (ALSO READ: Ireland, Afghanistan tweak series dates due to early Indian Premier League start)

    Afghanistan squads for Ireland series:

    T20I squad

    Asghar Afghan(C), Usman Ghani, Najeeb Tarakai, Hazratullah Zazai, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Rashid Khan, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Farid Malik, Sayed Shirzad, Zia ur Rahman Sharifi, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Zahir Khan and Sharafuddin Ashraf

    ODI squad

    Asghar Afghan(C), Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Javed Ahmadi, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Ikram Alikhil, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Rashid Khan, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Aftab Alam, Dawlat, Zahir Khan, Farid Malik, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Shapoor Zadran and Sayed Shirzad.

    Test squad

    Asghar Afghan (C), Mohammad Shahzad, Ihsan Janat, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Nasir Jamal, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Ikram Alikhil, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Wafadar Momand, Yamin Ahmadzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Waqar Salamkhail