Rajasthan Royals © IANS
Ajinkya Rahane (left) remained unbeaten on 76 while Rajasthan Royals scored 73 © AFP

Ajinkya Rahane and Shane Watson did for Rajasthan Royals (RR) to Chennai Super Kings (CSK) what Dwayne Bravo and Brendon McCullum had done to Mumbai Indians (MI) in their last game in Match 15 of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015 against at Ahmedabad on Sunday. RR managed to win their fifth game in a row this season, trouncing CSK by eight wickets. With this win, RR stay firmly at the top of the IPL 2015 points table, while CSK remain second. Live Scorecard: Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) vs Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) IPL 2015 Match 14

Rahane and Watson gave CSK a taste of their own medicine, mixing ruthless aggression with elegant batsmanship to dispatch the bowlers to all ends of Motera. Both men combined to score a record eighth century stand for RR. The duo ensured that RR now have the most century opening stands in IPL. They also broke Graeme Smith and Naman Ojha’s record for highest opening stand for RR, achieved against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in IPL 2009 at Durban. Live Updates: Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) vs Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) IPL 2015 Match 14

Watson was out with merely 13 runs needed for the win, getting bowled by Ravindra Jadeja for 73 off 47 deliveries on IPL comeback. Steven Smith suffered a rare failure, chipping one from Bravo back to the bowler to be dismissed for six with just one run needed to win, but Rahane ensured that there was never any doubt on the final outcome. Rahane in the course of his knock also took over the Orange Cap from George Bailey.

Earlier, Dwayne Bravo scored a crucial half-century, while Smith and MS Dhoni contributed as well to boost CSK to 156 for four. Smith and Brendon McCullum came out to open the innings as usual, and started off in their distinctive style, with McCullum hitting two boundaries in the first over of the match. Chris Morris bowled a tidy second over which yielded just two, and that could have contributed to McCullum playing a poor shot in the next over. Pravin Tambe, bowling the third over, was greeted with a slap past his head for four but he managed to get McCullum out off the next ball, mis-hitting a short ball to the fielder. Rajasthan Royals (RR) in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015: Street-smart cricket once again on the cards

Suresh Raina has not been in great form so far in IPL 2015, having scored four and 14 in the first two games before recovering with an innings of 43 not out against Mumbai Indians in their last match. However, he was again dismissed early, edging Morris behind to Sanju Samson to leave CSK in a spot of bother at 38 for two.

Faf du Plessis then played a rare irresponsible shot, looking to go over long off against Ankit Sharma only to be caught brilliantly by Morris. Smith kept going though, scoring at will and hitting some big sixes. He played one shot too many though, and ended up inside edging an attempted hoick to leave CSK reeling at 65 for four. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in IPL 2015: Kings of consistency look to rule again

That united Bravo and MS Dhoni, who proceeded to play with caution initially before opening up brilliantly. Both men brought out the big hits toward the end of the innings, with Bravo scoring a 29-ball 50. Dhoni did not quite get going, failing to make good enough connection despite swinging hard.

Dhoni won the toss and chose to bat first, as CSK went in with the same side that won them their first three games. RR made a couple of changes as their regular captain Shane Watson made a comeback to the side at the expense of Tim Southee, while Ankit Sharma came in for Dhawal Kulkarni. Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015: Complete coverage

Brief scores:

Chennai Super Kings 156 for 4 in 20 overs (Dwayne Smith 40, Dwayne Bravo 62*; Chris Morris 1 for 19, James Faulkner 1 for 26) lost to Rajasthan Royals 157 for 2 in 18.1 overs (Ajinkya Rahane 76*, Shane Watson 73; Ravindra Jadeja 1 for 29) by 8 wickets.

Full Scorecard

(Shiamak Unwalla, a reporter with CricketCountry, is a self-confessed Sci-Fi geek and Cricket fanatic. His Twitter handle is @ShiamakUnwalla)