Andhra Premier League (APL) will start from December 2017    Getty Images
Andhra Premier League (APL) will start from December 2017 Getty Images

Cricket has evolved a lot since the introduction of Twenty20 (T20) cricket. After the format became popular in international level, many countries and gradually states of the countries hosted their own leagues to not only keep the players under active competition but also to use it as a platform for the talent to surface. While the concept of a state premier league has been successful in Karnataka, Rajasthan and Tamil Nadu, Andhra is all set to join the bandwagon as the state s cricket association is mulling to introduce a state T20 League to the state s cricketing calendar.

Andhra Cricket Association (ACA) recently revealed the tournament to feature six teams namely Bezawada Baadshahs, Godavari Jaguars, Guntur Mirchis, Kadapa Kings, Nellore Lions and Vizag Whales will fight for the title for a span of one month from December 2017 to January 2018. “Our aim is to spark the feelings and taste of the game in everyone’s life. Life is there to be enjoyed and we endeavour to provide new experiences that excite the senses and inspire all ages to feel the game,” is what the official statement of the tournament reads.

A report from Cricbuzz, quotes a source said, “All the operational and organising activities like franchisee management and brand sponsorship etc. have been assigned to Rajesh Mandhapati, MD, Redmoon Creative Private Limited to conduct the said Andhra Premier League (APL).”