England’s World Cup-winning hero Jofra Archer was picked in the 14-man squad for the first Ashes Test. @AFP

England‘s World Cup-winning star Jofra Archer received his maiden Test call-up as the Ed Smith-led selection panel on Saturday announced the 14-man squad for the first Ashes Test against Australia.

The Joe Root-led side will kick off the Ashes campaign against Tim Paine’s Australia in Birmingham on August 1.

“After impressing in England’s successful ICC Cricket World Cup campaign, Sussex fast bowler Jofra Archer is called up to the Test squad for the first time,” said the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in a media release.

ALSO READ: Jofra Archer: World Cup final Super Over hero can succeed in Tests, predicts James Anderson

“The 24-year-old returned to action for Sussex last night in the Vitality Blast after a sore left side. His readiness for five-day cricket will be assessed at Edgbaston. Since making his senior debut in 2016, Archer has played 28 First-class matches taking 131 wickets at 23.44,” added ECB.

“Lancashire batsman Jos Buttler and Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes return to the Test squad having been rested for the Ireland Test at Lord’s.”

ALSO READ: Was in excruciating pain during World Cup 2019, couldn’t do it without painkillers: Jofra Archer

Talking about the squad, the chairman of selectors Smith said: “Though it is unusual to select a squad of 14 for a home Test, there are compelling reasons to do so here. Several bowlers are recovering from injuries or niggles. In addition, some bowlers who played in the World Cup are being closely monitored to assess their preparation for Test match cricket.”

“The wider circumstances – a successful home World Cup campaign followed so quickly by a home Ashes series – are unprecedented. It feels sensible to select an expanded squad and leave a number of bowling options open for the final team selection,” he concluded.


Joe Root (Captain), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes.