James Muirhead © Getty Images
Victorian cricketer James Muirhead has played two First-Class matches so far © Getty Images


Jan 20, 2014


James Muirhead was a surprise selection as Australia announced their 14-member squad for the three-match T20 series against England.


The T20 series begins on January 29 with the first game to be played at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart.


The Cricket Australia (CA) website informed on Monday that Chris Lynn has also been named in the squad, which boasts the likes of Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood, who are returning from injuries.


George Bailey, who has been axed from the Test side after a dismal show in the Ashes 2013-14, will lead Australia in the two series.


Australia chairman of selectors John Inverarity has informed that the players selected for the series against England could come under consideration for the ICC World T20 2014 to be held in Bangladesh.


“The ICC World Twenty20 is just around the corner and these and other players will come into contention for our 15-man squad for that tournament,” Inverarity said.


“Cameron White and Chris Lynn have been in tremendous form this season and have shown themselves to be destructive hitters of the ball, as have all-rounders Dan Christian and Ben Cutting. The NSP [National Selection Panel] is looking to develop spin bowling options for both the ICC World Twenty20 and the 2015 ICC World Cup,” he added.


“Twenty year old James Muirhead has impressed recently. He is an exciting prospect as an emerging leg-spinner and will be looking to make the most of his opportunity. Mitchell Starc has a fine record in International T20 cricket and is an important player in our ICC World Twenty20 campaign,” Inverarity said.


He continued, “It is anticipated that he will be ready to perform by the end of this month. Josh Hazelwood has returned to fitness and his Big Bash League performances have been consistently very good.”


The report added that players eventually selected for the ICC World T20 2014 will also play the series in South Africa.


Australia squad for T20s against England:


George Bailey (c), Aaron Finch (vc), Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ben Cutting, James Faulkner, Josh Hazelwood, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, James Murihead, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Cameron White.