Australia squad unchanged for fourth Test against India at Adelaide

Australia lead the four-match Test series 3-0 Getty Images

Adelaide: Jan 17, 2012

The series already grabbed, Australia on Tuesday named an unchanged 12-member squad for the fourth and final Test against India retaining the struggling duo of Shaun Marsh and Brad Haddin for the match starting from January 24.

Australia lead the series 3-0 and emerged victorious in the third Test in just three days with an all-pace attack in Perth.

But off-spinner Nathan Lyon is a near certainty to return to the playing XI after carrying the drinks at WACA last week and either Mitchell Starc or Peter Siddle are in line to be left out.

“A spin bowler has always been a priority in Test matches at Adelaide Oval and it is very likely that Nathan Lyon will replace one of the other bowlers in the final XI for the fourth Test,” said national selector John Inverarity.

Starc, who has had moderate impact in the three Tests he has played against New Zealand and India, is the more likely of the two to sit out.

“The fact the Australians were able to dismiss India in only 60 and 63 overs in Perth and the extra two rest days because the Test finished early has meant that there is reduced concern about excessive workloads for the fast bowlers,” Inverarity said.

Vice captain Haddin will need a good game here to retain his place, having managed just 33 runs at 11 in this series and just two half-centuries in his past 17 innings, besides being shaky behind the stumps.

Marsh will also be keen to make some runs here after a managing just 14 runs in four innings so far this summer.


Michael Clarke (c), Brad Haddin (v-c), Ed Cowan, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, Mike Hussey, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, David Warner.