live cricket score, live score, live score cricket, Australia vs south Africa live, Australia vs South Africa live score, AUS vs South Africa live cricket score, australia vs south africa 2nd test match live, australia vs south africa 2nd test live, cricket live score, cricket score, cricket, live cricket streaming, live cricket video, live cricket, cricket live hobart
Joe Burns (left) earns his Test recall, while Callum Ferguson earns his maiden Test call Getty Images

Perth: Australia added Joe Burns and the uncapped Callum Ferguson to their squad for the second Test against South Africa on Monday after opener Shaun Marsh was ruled out with a broken finger. Australia had originally named an unchanged 12 for the second Test in Hobart, starting on Saturday, but they are now counting the cost of their defeat in the first Test. As well as the absence of Marsh, batsman Adam Voges is also in doubt along with a hamstring problem. Australia went 1-0 down in the three-Test series when they lost by 177 runs in Perth on Monday. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: Australia vs South Africa, 2nd Test at Hobart

Captain Steve Smith lamented the performance by Australia, who twice failed to bowl out South Africa, dropped catches and also batted poorly in the first innings. “Every aspect of our game needs some improvement,” said Smith. “I can’t fault our work ethic and the guys are working extremely hard. It is about doing things better in the middle and we haven’t be able to do that for a while. If we are going to stay in this series we need to turn it around straight away in Hobart.” Burns will replace Marsh, while Ferguson also joins the squad and uncapped pace bowler Joe Mennie, the 12th man in Perth, could win promotion. Nathan Lyon’s place in the team is under pressure after he failed to take a wicket in South Africa’s second innings at a coast of 146 runs.

Australia squad for 2nd Test vs South Africa: David Warner, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith (c), Adam Voges, Mitchell Marsh, Callum Ferguson, Peter Nevill (wk), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Peter Siddle, Joe Mennie, Nathan Lyon.