Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016: Points table and team standings; Dynamites on top

Bangladesh Premier League will feature seven teams which is scheduled to begin on 4th of November and carry into the second week of December.

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016: Points table and team standings; Dynamites on top
Updated: December 4, 2016 9:32 PM IST | Edited By: Pramod Ananth

Photo Courtesy: Twitter Comilla Victorians are the defending champions of BPL. Photo Courtesy: Twitter

Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016 is all set to unfold itself upon the cricketing world. BPL is currently into the fourth season after the inaugural season in 2012. The 2016 BPL season will consists of seven franchises, which will for the first time include 2- new teams in Khulna Titans and Rajshahi Kings, alongside Dhaka Dynamites, Comilla Victorians, Chittagong Vikings and Barisal Bulls. The tournament will take place from Novemeber 4 till December 10. Dynamites will be captained by Kumar Sangakkara, while defending champions Comilla Victorians will again be lead by Mashrafe Mortaza. Chittagong Vikins will be skippered by Tamim Iqbal, while Barisal Bulls will be led by Bangladesh Test skipper Mushfiqur Rahim. Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016: Schedule and Time Table

Rajshahi Kings is mostly to be led by West Indies T20 winning skipper Darren Sammy under whose captaincy West Indies have 2-titles under their belt. Mahmudullah will be leading Khulna Titans yet once again with Pakistan's star Shahid Afridi leading Rangpur Riders for the very first time. The first 16 games of the tournament will be played at the same venue after the next 10 games will be played at Chittagong. The next 20 games including the final will again be played at Mirpur. A total of 46 games will be played in the whole tournament.

Almost every team has their fair share of international T20 superstars, which adds a lot of spice to the tournament. Some of the biggest names in T20 cricket are playing the tournament, which has already begun to get comparisons with its Indian counterpart the Indian Premier League (IPL), as well as Australia s Big Bash League (BBL) and West Indies Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

Teams M W L T NR Pts NRR
Dhaka Dynamites 12 8 4 0 0 16 0.912
Khulna Titans 12 7 5 0 0 14 -0.215
Chittagong Vikings 12 6 6 0 0 12 0.233
Rajshahi Kings 12 6 6 0 0 12 0.208
Rangpur Riders 12 6 6 0 0 12 -0.106
Comilla Victorians 12 5 7 0 0 10 -0.345
Barisal Bulls 12 4 8 0 0 8 -0.688

This table was updated after the match No. 42 between Dhaka Dynamites and Khulna Titans, which Khulna Titans won by 6 wickets.