Jake Weatherald bludgeoned 11 boundaries and two sixes in his 82 off just 42 deliveries. @ Twitter/Adelaide Strikers

A fine 116-run partnership between Jake Weatherald and Alex Carey paved the way for Adelaide Strikers seven-wicket win over Hobart Hurricanes in a Big Bash League match (BBL) on Thursday.

Chasing 170, the Strikers were off to a flying start and could have finished the game much earlier with Weatherald and Carey firing on all cylinders. They were 64/0 in 4 overs and never looked back since. Weatherald and Carey matched each other shot for shot as they made the Hurricanes bowlers look hopeless. (ALSO READ: Boyce, Richardson power Melbourne Renegades to semi-finals)

The imperious partnership was broken in the 11th over after Carey gave a simple catch back to Simon Milenko. However, the damage was already done. The wicketkeeper-batsman tonked seven boundaries and one six in his 35-ball 54, while Weatherald, who departed three overs later to Jofra Archer, bludgeoned 11 boundaries and two sixes in his 82 off just 42 deliveries.

Jake Lehmann (5) was the only wicket to fall as Jonathan Wells and captain Colin Ingram saw their side home with 19 balls to spare.

Earlier, captain Matthew Wade top scored with a brilliant 88 off 54 as the Hurricanes notched a competitive 169/7 in their 20 overs. (ALSO READ: Henriques, Dwarshuis lead Sydney Sixers to crushing eight-wicket win over Adelaide Strikers)

The home side were off to a good start with openers D Arcy Short and Wade making 59 runs. Short departed in the seventh over after off Ben Laughlin, who was the pick of the bowlers with three for 31 in his four overs.

The senior glovesman, who hogged most of the strike, found good support from Caleb Jewell as the duo added 55 runs for the next wicket.

Wade s fine knock was brought to an end Laughlin in the 18th over, but the job was done, although it proved later to be insufficient.

Brief scores: Adelaide Strikers 170/3 (Jake Weatherald 82, Alex Carey 54) beat Hobart Hurricanes 169/7 (Matthew Wade 88; Ben Laughlin 3/21, Rashid Khan 2/28, Michael Nesser 2/38) by seven wickets