Bengal won the toss and put on 130 runs on the board against Assam in the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy © Getty Images

Agartala: Mar 17, 2013

Bengal trounced Assam by 53 runs in their opening East Zone leg encounter of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 match at the Maharaja Bir Bikram Stadium at Agartala on Sunday.

Bengal captain Laxmi Ratan Shukla opted to bat after winning the toss and they put up a modest 130 for five on a slow MBB Stadium track.

However, Bengal pacers Sayan Sekhar Mondal (3 for 13) and Shami Ahmed (2 for 13) wreaked havoc as Assam were skittled out for 77 in only 16.2 overs.

The victory ensured four points for Bengal from the opening tie.

For the winners, it was Shreevats Goswami who top-scored with 43 off 39 balls that included four boundaries. The pint-sized left-hander however couldn’t play his natural game having lost Subhamoy Das (0) to a freak run-out and Debabrata Das retired hurt on six.

Skipper Shukla (6) and Anustup Majumdar (8) were also dismissed cheaply but Wriddhiman Saha (15) added 32 runs for the fourth wicket with Goswami. Once Saha and Goswami were dismissed in quick succession it was Arnab Nandi (20 not out) and Das (23 not out) who added 44 runs for the unbroken sixth wicket stand to clinch the issue for Bengal.

Defending a small target, Bengal bowlers kept Assam under wraps and the fielding was also top notch as they effected three run-outs.

Brief Scores: Bengal 130 for 5 (Shreevats Goswami 43, Debabrata Das 23) beat Assam 77 (Dheeraj Jadhav 19; Sayan Sekhar Mondal 3/13, Shami Ahmed 2/13) by 53 runs