Cheteshwar Pujara to lead India A on South Africa tour; Stuart Binny, Parvez Rasool and Suresh Raina also included

Cheteshwar Pujara would be benefitted by the India A tour of South Africa, ahead of the national side’s tour later in the year © PTI

Mumbai: Jul 5, 2013

Cheteshwar Pujara was on Friday named the captain of India A squad which will tour South Africa in August 2013 for a tri-series also involving Australia.

The team would be playing four ODIs in the league round before the final and also two four-day games.

The selection of the likes of Pujara, Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay will provide them an opportunity to prepare well for the national side’s tour of the African country later this year. India will play three Tests, seven One-day Internationals and two Twenty20 matches against South Africa.

Rasool, who will be the first player from Jammu and Kashmir to represent India in the Zimbabwe tour, has also been named in the A side.

India A squad for tour of South Africa:

Cheteshwar Pujara (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Parvez Rasool, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami Ahmed, Stuart Binny, Ishwar Chand Pandey, Jaidev Unadkat, Siddharth Kaul.

India A match schedule on tour of South Africa:

August 1: ODI vs Australia ‘A’

August 9: ODI vs South Africa ‘A’

August 11: ODI vs Australia ‘A’

August 12: ODI vs South Africa ‘A’

August 14:  Tri-series Final

August 17 – 20 1st Four Day game

August 24 – 27  2nd Four Day game.