Cricket World Cup 2019: England team profile – all you need to know

England head in to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 as one of the favorites to lift the trophy at home. The fact is England is the No.1 ranked ODI outfit, they have a batting line-up that has time and again posted targets of 350 plus with utter ease and have knocked over such targets while chasing as well. With the steely-eyed captain in Eoin Morgan and explosive batting prowess of Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler and Morgan himself add to the versatility of Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, the stability of Moeen Ali and Joe Root, this is probably the best ever England outfit in the World Cup.

England have played in all the 11 editions of the world cup reaching finals three times, but they still await their maiden World cup title. Since 1992, England have failed to make it to the semi-finals, but this edition could change all that.


World Cup record: P 73 W 41 L 30 T 2 NR 0

SQUAD: Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jos Buttler (wk), Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Jofra Archer, Liam Dawson and James Vince in England s final 15-member World Cup squad; David Willey, Joe Denly miss out

Likely starting XI: 1.Jonny Bairstow, 2.Jason Roy, 3.Joe Root, 4.Eoin Morgan (capt), 5. Jos Buttler (wk), 6. Ben Stokes, 7. Moeen Ali, 8.Chris Woakes, 9.Jofra Archer, 10.Liam Plunkett, 11.Adil Rashid

Cricket World Cup 2019 Final 15-member squad of all teams for World Cup 2019


May 30 vs South Africa, The Oval, London

June 3 vs Pakistan, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

June 8 vs Bangladesh, Cardiff Wales Stadium

June 14 vs West Indies, Hampshire Bowl, Southampton

June 18 vs Afghanistan, Old Trafford, Manchester

June 21 vs Sri Lanka, Headingley, Leeds

June 25 vs Australia, Lord s, London

June 30 vs India, Edgbaston, Birmingham

July 3 vs New Zealand, The Riverside Durham, Chester-le-Street

World Cup standings: 1975 semi-final, 1979 runner-up, 1983 – semi-final, 1987 – runner-up, 1992 – runner-up, 1996 – quarter-final, 1999 – out in group stages, 2003 – out in group stages, 2007 – Super 8, 2011 – quarter-final, 2015 – out in group stages

Most runs: Graham Gooch (897 runs in 21 matches)

Most wickets: Ian Botham (30 in 16 matches)