Cricket World Cup 2019, live cricket score, ENG vs AFG live score, ball by ball commentary, ENG vs AFG, ENG vs AFG live streaming, ENG vs AFG scoreboard
James Vince replaced injured Jason Roy in England’s playing XI as Eoin Morgan-led side elected to bat against Afghanistan. @AFP

Eoin Morgan has won the toss and England have elected to bat against Afghanistan at the Emirates Old Trafford in the 24th match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in Manchester on Tuesday.

With Jason Roy out with an injury of a hamstring tear, James Vince is in the playing XI. Moeen Ali too is brought back into the team and he replaces Liam Plunkett.

Afghanistan, meanwhile, have made three changes to the team as Dawlat, Najibullah and Mujeeb replace Aftab, Zazai and Hamid in the playing XI.

(Cricket World Cup 2019, ENG vs AFG: FOLLOW LIVE UPDATES)

“We will bat first. Unfortunately, Jason Roy misses out, it’s a used wicket, they have done magnificently well to prepare the pitch, looks like a good wicket, played well the other day, carry for the seamers and turn for the spinners. Two changes, one forced, Vince replaces Roy and Moeen is back, in for Liam Plunkett,” said Morgan at the toss.

“We would have batted first as well, looks a good wicket, slightly Asian conditions. We are disappointed with our batting, have not even played 40 overs, we have a good chance to restrict them to a good defendable score. Three changes for us, Dawlat, Najibullah and Mujeeb are playing – Aftab, Zazai and Hamid are not playing,” Afghanistan skipper Gulbadin Naib

While England have won three matches and lost one, Afghanistan have lost all the four matches they have played so far.


England: Jonny Bairstow, James Vince, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Jofra Archer, Mark Wood

Afghanistan: Rahmat Shah, Noor Ali Zadran, Najibullah Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Ali Khil (wicketkeeper), Gulbadin Naib (captain), Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Dawlat Zadran