Cricket World Cup 2019: Sri Lanka opt to bat; Jadeja, Kuldeep in for India
Ravindra Jadeja (AFP Photo)

Sri Lanka captain Dimuth Karunaratne won the toss and opted to bat against India in Match 44 of the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 at Headingley, Leeds on Saturday.

Sri Lanka have made one change to their playing XI in this dead-rubber. Jeffrey Vandersay has been replaced by Thisara Perera. On the other hand, India have made two changes in their ninth and final league match. Yuzvendra Chahal and Mohammed Shami have been rested ahead of the semi-finals and replaced by Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja, who gets his first game of the tournament.

India have already made it to the semi-finals of the world cup while Sri Lanka are out of contention. But the fight for the top spot continues. If India win their final league match and Australia lose theirs later today, they will finish at the top. However, in the event of India losing, Australia will finish as the leader of the league stage no matter whether they lose or win against South Africa.

Playing XIs

India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Kusal Perera (wk), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha, Lasith Malinga