This is the first time in in two years that sTeyn have been named in a ODI squad and will make his return after a length injury lay-off.
This is the first time in in two years that Dale Steyn have been named in a ODI squad and will make his return after a length injury lay-off.

Fast bowler Dale Steyn has been named in South Africa s ODI squad for the Zimbabwe series starting September 30. This is the first time in over two years that the 35-year-old has been named in an ODI squad and is set to make his return after a lengthy injury lay-off.

Lead spinner Imran Tahir, rested for the Sri Lanka series, has been recalled while 31-year-old Christiaan Jonker is the only uncapped player in the squad. South Africa A skipper Khaya Zondo, who has played three ODIs, has also been included for the series which involves three ODIs and three T20Is.

Notable exclusions are wicketkeeper batsman Quinton de Kock and lower-order finisher David Miller, who recently quit red-ball cricket to concentrate on the limited-overs formats. Both have been rested to give young and upcoming players a chance to prove their worth, keeping in mind the 2019 World Cup to be held in England.

Heinrich Klassen will keep wickets in de Kock s absence.

Faf du Plessis, who was ruled out of the ODI series against Sri Lanka midway owing to a rotator cuff injury has been named in both squads, subject to fitness assessments.

If he is unable to play in either of them, a replacement captain will be named nearer the time, reported

Kagiso Rabada has been rested for the T20I series with Cricket South Africa handing maiden call-ups to Rassie van der Dussen and Gihahn Cloete in T20Is. 33-year-old allrounder Robbie Frylinck, who last played a T20I for South Africa in 2017 has also been recalled.

SA squad for ZIM ODI series: Faf du Plessis (C), Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Khaya Zondo

SA T20I squad for ZIM series: Faf du Plessis (C), Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Robbie Frylinck, Imran Tahir, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Lungisani Ngidi, Dane Paterson, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen

Zimbabwe tour for South Africa schedule:

September 30: 10:00, 1st ODI, Diamond Oval, Kimberley (Day)

October 3: 13:00, 2nd ODI, Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein (D/N)

October 6: 13:00, 3rd ODI, Eurolux Boland Park, Paarl (D/N)

October 9: 18:00, 1st T20 International, Buffalo Park, East London (D/N)

October 12: 18:00, 2nd T20 International, Senwes Park, Potchefstroom (D/N)

October 14: 14:30, 3rd T20 International, Willowmoore Park, Benoni (Day)