Dale Steyn, Graeme Smith return as South Africa announce Test and ODI squads for series against Pakistan in UAE

Dale Steyn (left) and Graeme Smith’s return will boost South Africa © Getty Images

Sep 10, 2013

South Africa on Tuesday announced their Test and One-Day International squads for the upcoming tour of UAE to face Pakistan next month, with Graeme Smith and pace spearhead Dale Steyn making a comeback in both the formats.

Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) selection convener Andrew Hudson said in a release on board’s official website, “We should have a definite picture on the status of Graeme’s recovery from surgery within the next two weeks. We will obviously be monitoring Graeme’s condition very carefully and do not want to overload him too much during the early stages of his return.”

While Steyn made a comeback to the national side after a long injury lay-off which began during the ICC Champions Trophy 2013, spinner Imran Tahir and all-rounder Wayne Parnell were also recalled to the ODI squad.

“Both Imran and Wayne had good tours to Sri Lanka in the T20 series while we want to give Vernon the chance to show us what he can do. He and Wayne are both good lower-order all-rounders and have the ability to contribute significantly in the batting department as well.
“We have retained the 15-man Test squad that has served us so well over the past couple of years. They have impressed not just with the results but with the depth in the squad and a notable feature has been the manner in which players have put up their hands when we have had the inevitable injuries,” Hudson added.

The squad for Twenty20 series will be announced after the Champions League T20 2013 tournament in India, the release added.

South Africa will play two Tests, five ODIs and two T20s against Pakistan on tour to UAE, which begins on October 14.

South Africa Test squad for series against Pakistan in UAE: 

Graeme Smith (c), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile.

South Africa ODI squad for series against Pakistan in UAE:

AB de Villiers (c), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.