Dale Steyn rested as South Africa announce ODI and T20 squads for Sri Lanka tour

Dale Steyn (extreme right) played just one match in the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 © Getty Images

Mumbai: Jul 4, 2013
Cricket South Africa (CSA) have left out premier fast bowler Dale Steyn from the South African One-Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) squads for the tour of Sri Lanka later this month.
Steyn, who missed most parts of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 due to a side strain, was not risked by the selectors for the tour, as they want him to recover well in time for the upcoming Test season.
“We are resting Dale Steyn as we have a very important and crowded Test season ahead of us and we want to be absolutely certain that, as the leader of our attack, he is properly rested and fit,” said CSA selection convenor Andrew Hudson, on their official website.
Test captain Graeme Smith also misses out as he is still recovering from an ankle surgery. “Graeme Smith obviously could not be considered because of his long-term recovery process following surgery,” said Hudson.
The Sri Lanka tour will see the debut of Titans cricketer David Wiese, who will become the 58th player to represent the Proteas in T20Is. “David Wiese impressed on the SA Emerging squad’s tour to Namibia, having previously done well in the Champions League tournament, and we feel he is the sort of player who could make an explosive impact in the T20 squad,” said Hudson.
As for the ODI squad, South Africa have retained batsman Alviro Petersen and all-rounder Chris Morris, who were called in as late replacements for the Champions trophy. Wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock also got a call-up to the ODI squad. Imran Tahir and Wayne Parnell returned to the T20 squad.
The South Africans exited the Champions Trophy in the semi-final stage, but the selectors haven’t made too many changes to the ODI squad.
“In spite of the disappointments of the Champions Trophy campaign we have decided to remain consistent with our selections as we have done in the past,” said Hudson. “It has paid dividends with the Test squad and we are confident that we will get the same end results with the two limited overs squads.”

South Africa will play five ODIs and two T20Is in the tour of Sri Lanka starting July 20.
ODI squad: AB de Villiers (c), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, Colin Ingram, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.
T20 squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Farhaan Behardien, Henry Davids, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, David Wiese.