DC vs MI: Rohit Sharma becomes third Indian to 8000 T20 runs
Rohit Sharma joined Suresh Raina and Virat Kohli with 8000 T20 runs. © BCCI

Mumbai Indians’ captain Rohit Sharma on Thursday became the third Indian batsman to score 8,000 runs in T20 cricket, following Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina to the milestone.

Rohit made 30 off 22 balls in Mumbai’s 40-run win over Delhi Capitals in game 34 of IPL 2019 at the Feroz Shah Kotla, which took him past the 8,000 mark in T2os.

His T20 career has been divided between Mumbai Indians and Deccan Chargers in the IPL, India, India A and Mumbai in domestic cricket.

Raina leads the table for India in T20 cricket with 8216 runs, followed by Kohli with 8183 and Rohit at third with 8018.


Player M I Runs HS Avg SR 100s 50s
S Raina 311 295 8216 126* 32.99 138.26 4 49
V Kohli 260 46 8183 113 40.91 133.38 4 60
R Sharma 307 294 8018 118 32.22 133.36 6 53

In IPL 2019, Rohit has scored 223 runs at an average of 27.87 but has not managed a single half-century.

With victory over DC, Mumbai Indians now sit at second spot on the IPL 2019 points table.

Also in Thursday’s match, Amit Mishra became the first Indian bowler to take 150 wickets in the IPL.