DC vs RCB: Delhi Capitals secure playoff berth for the first time since 2012 by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore by 16 runs

Fifties from skipper Shreyas Iyer and Shikhar Dhawan set base for Delhi Capitals’ 187/5 against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Match 46 of IPL 2019 at the Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi on Sunday, which was defended well by the bowlers, thus securing a playoff berth – for the first time since 2012- with a 16-run win over Virat Kohli’s team.

Iyer 52, Dhawan’s 50 and Sherfane Rutherford’s 28* off 13 balls was supported well by bowlers led by Amit Mishra (2/29) and Kagiso Rabada (2/30), while RCB were caught by the sluggish Kotla track despite having a good start to the chase.

RCB were off to a strong start with Parthiv Patel going berserk in the powerplay over, hitting 39 off just 20 balls helping his eam to 56 in just five overs. Patel was sublime with his touch and took a liking to Nepal leg spinner Sandeep Lamichhane, taking three fours of his first over.

But Patel failed to survive the powerplay overs when he got out in the fifth ball of the sixth caught by Axar Patel at backward point. Axar then made the big breakthrough when he has skipper Kohli caught deep midwicket offa half tracker for 23 of 17 balls. Shivam Dube and AB de Villiers then put RCB back on track with a 35-run stand for the third wicket. HIGHLIGHTS: DC vs RCB

However, DC made a strong comeback when they reduced RCB from 103/1 to 111/5 – 4 wickets for just eight runs. De Villiers was the first to go in the mini collpase when Axar took a stunner at deep midwicket, perilously close to the advertising triangle, off Rutherford in the 12 over. In the next over bowled by Amit Mishra, Heinrich Klassen fell attempting a scoop, caught well by Rishabh Pant and the in the same over, Dube, on 24 off 16 balls was foxed by a googly, skying at point, where Dhawan completed a good catch. SCORECARD: DC vs RCB

From this point onwards the sluggish nature of the Kotla track made strok-making tough for RCB batters. Gurkeerat Singh clobbered 16 runs of one Ishant Sharma over, but his 19-ball 27-run knock came to a screeching halt when Pant completed a superb one-handed diving catch behind the stumps.

Marcus Stoinis continued to hold the fort with an unbeaten 32 off 24 but Rabada and Ishant Sharma finished their spells well to restrict RCB to 171/7.

Earlier, After Iyer won the toss for DC, he opted to bat first, with RCB bearing the brunt of the 42 degree Delhi heat. And the Delhi openers – Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw – were in no mood to show mercy as the sped to 30/0 in the first three overs with Shaw helping himself to three fours while Dhawan got two sixes and a four. However, Umesh Yadav broke the threatening stand with a rising delivery that Shaw nicked to wickekeeper Parthiv Patel, who managed to hold on to the catch after the ball thudded onto his chest. Shaw went for 18 off 10 balls.

Dhawan and Iyer then drove DC with 68-run stand in 43 balls with Dhawan notching up his 38th IPL fifty. Both Dhawan and Iyer were clinical in taking on the spinners and used lack of pace of the Kotla track to good effect against the likes of Navdeep Saini and Stoinis.

At 103/1 in 12.1 overs, DC looked set for a big flourish, but slumped thereafter losing three wickets for just 26 runs with Yuzvendra Chahal getting rid of the well-set Dhawan, caught at short fine for 50 off 37 balls and then had Rishabh Pant trapped in front for seven.

Iyer reached his 14th IPL fifty, but departed soon after for 52 off 37 balls, caught at deep mid, off Washington Sundar. With two new batsman, and more critically, two foreign players in Colin Ingram and Rutherford, the run-rate dropped. Ingram departed for 11 off seven balls to hand Delhi boy Saini his first wicket of the day. But, Rutherford’s late blitz pushed DC’s target past the 180-run mark, as he combined for a stand of 46 runs with Axar Patel (6 off nine balls).

For RCB, Chahal picked up 2/41 his in four while Umesh, Sundar and Saini added one wicket each.

Brief Scores: Delhi Capitals 187/5 (Shreyas Iyer 52, Shikhar Dhawan 50; Yuzvendra Chahal 2/41) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore 171/7 (Parthiv Patel 39, Marcus Stoinis 32*; Amit Mishra 2/39) by 16 runs