Brad Hogg © Getty Images
Brad Hogg is one of the oldest players of the tournament at 43 © Getty Images

By Shiamak Unwalla

Sep 19, 2014

South African representatives Dolphins will clash with Australia‘s Perth Scorchers in the fourth match of the Champions League T20 (CLT20) at Mohali. The tournament has got off to an engaging start after the qualifiers had some interesting games, and a few one-sided ones as well. However now that the less challenging sides have been eliminated, the contest is much likelier to get more even.

The Dolphins are a well-settled side led by the experienced Morne van Wyk. The side includes some big domestic names like Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Jonathan Vandiar, and Kyle Abbott. On the other hand, Perth have no dearth of talent either with the likes of Adam Voges, Mitchell Marsh, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Craig Simmons, Jason Behrendorff, Yasir Arafat, and the indomitable ‘youngster’ Brad Hogg.

In terms of strength, both teams are almost at par. However, it is in terms of experience in Indian conditions that Perth holds the distinct advantage. A lot of their players have played in Indian conditions in the past and have also done well. As a team, Perth Scorchers have appeared in CLT20 three times in a row now, while this will be the first opportunity for Dolphins.
The match will be played at Mohali, which will suit the pace bowlers on either side. In the previous match played between Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) and Hobart Hurricanes, no batsman scored more than 43. However, that could be more due to a lack of application by the batsmen than any real demons in the pitch. Historically, Mohali has been a high-scoring ground in T20s.

On the whole, it should be a good contest, with a lot of runs for the batsmen but enough to keep the bowlers interested as well. Perth go in with the advantage, but Dolphins are more than capable of holding their own as well.


Dolphins: Morne van Wyk (c&wk), Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Jonathan Vandiar, Kyle Abbott, Cody Chetty, Daryn Smit, Daryn Dupavillion, Khaya Zondo, Andile Phelukwayo, Cameron Delport, Robbie Frylinck, Keshav Maharaj, Sibonelo Makhanya, Prenelan Subrayen, Craig Alexander

Perth Scorchers: Adam Voges (c), Cameron Bancroft (wk), Brad Hogg, Mitchell Marsh, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Craig Simmons, Ashton Turner, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Yasir Arafat, Sam Whiteman (wk), Hilton Cartwright, Joel Paris, Michael Beer, Simon Mackin

Time: 10:30 GMT | 16:00 IST

Complete coverage of Champions League T20 (CLT20) 2014 here

(Shiamak Unwalla is a reporter with CricketCountry. He is a self-confessed Sci-Fi geek and Cricket fanatic who likes to pass his free time by reading books, watching TV shows, and eating food. Sometimes all at the same time)