Shivnarine Chanderpaul © Getty Images
Shivnarine Chanderpaul has been conspicuous in his absence from most T20 Leagues in the world © Getty Images

Aug 25, 2014

West Indian players Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Kieran Powell, and Shivnarine Chanderpaul have become owners in the Canadian Premier League T20. The Canadian T20 league is scheduled to commence from August 1, 2015.

According to a press release by, West Indian Test skipper Ramdin said, “I fully support the growth and development of international-calibre T20 cricket through the Canadian Premier League and the direction being taken by Roy Singh, the League’s founder and CEO. Roy has the vision, determination and drive to make this League truly successful and sustainable and I am thrilled to be coming on board as part of such a pioneering venture for the North American market.”

Young opener Powell said, “These are exciting times for T20 cricket and it takes a visionary like Roy Singh to introduce this unique and exhilarating form of the game to the region, in what will be a first for this part of the world. It is indeed a privilege to be part of the Canadian Premier League. The Canadian Premier League is already creating waves of excitement within the international cricketing community. What makes the League stand out is Roy Singh’s brilliance and initiative in carving out a niche market in this region and ensuring that the business model surrounding his League is based on longevity that centers around a real passion for growth and development of the game. I am looking forward to being part of this powerful venture.”