Dwayne Smith (above) was dismissed for 69 to Thisara Perera    AFP (File Photo)
Dwayne Smith (above) was dismissed for 69 to Thisara Perera AFP (File Photo)

West Indies opener Dwayne Smith, and Pakistan’s veteran batsmen Shoaib Malik scored their respective 50s, as they propelled Chittagong Vikings to a challenging total of 185 for the loss of five wickets, against Barisal Bulls in Match 24 of the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2016, at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Tuesday. Dwayne Smith scored 69, wjhile Shoab Malik scored 63, while as for Barisal, the bowlers in the form of Kamrul Islam and Thisara Perera claimed a couple of wickets each. Nevertheless, it was a challenging total on the tracks of Chittagong. Live Cricket Score, BB vs CK, BPL 2016, Match 24 at Chittagong

Earlier, Chittagong Vikings skipper Tamim Iqbal won the toss, and elected to bat first, as both the teams moved in with a balanced side. The Chittagong openers in the form of Tamim and Dwayne Smith started off on a good note, contributing 43 runs, before the skipper fell for mere 19 to Kamrul Islam in the sixth over, and 39 runs later, it was Anamul Haque, who fell for mere 11 to Thisara Perera in the 11th over. Meanwhile, Dwayne Smith brought up his half-century, while it was at the score of 129, when he was dismissed for 69 to Perera again, in the 16th over.

Just 11 runs later, it was Mohammad Nabi, who fell for mere four to Kamrul again, in the 18th over, as it was until the final over, when Shoab Malik fell for 63 in the final ball of the innings to Rayad Emrit, after scoring his half-century, and also leading Chittagong to a challenging total of 185.

Brief scores:

Chittagong Vikings 185 for 5 in 20 overs (Dwayne Smith 69, Shoaib Malik 63; Kamrul Islam 2 for 29, Thisara Perera 2 for 37) vs Barisal Bulls.

Full Updates

(Ayush Gupta is a reporter at CricketCountry. A passionate supporter of Manchester United, he idolises Roger Federer and is also a World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) maniac. He can be followed on Twitter @Ayush24x7)