Ishan Kishan to lead youthful Board President’s XI versus England Lions
Ishan Kishan has sustained List A success to his credit this season. © PTI

Jharkand captain and wicketkeeper-batsman Ishan Kishan has been named to lead the Board President’s XI to face England Lions in two warm-up one-day matches this month in Thiruvananthapuram.

The 13-man squad includes one player with international experience in Haryana allrounder Jayant Yadav, who played four Tests and an ODI in 2016 before he was sidelined with injury, and Delhi fast bowler Navdeep Saini who was part of the Indian Test squad last year without getting a debut. Baroda captain Deepak Hooda was in April 2018 called up to India’s T20I squad, also features.

The rest of the squad comprises players with a level of success in the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy. The BCCI in a release Monday clarified that players involved in the Ranji quarter-finals, which start Tuesday, were not considered for selection. (ALSO READ: Some teams are making wickets that look like kabaddi ‘akharas’: Arun Lal)

Kishan led Jharkhand to the semi-final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy in October, scoring 405 runs at 45, and later that month starred for India C as they claimed the Deodhar Trophy. Saini took 16 wickets in the Vijay Hazare Trophy as Delhi ended runners-up, whereas Yadav has ostensibly been picked for his 10 wickets in the Asia Cup Emerging Teams Cup.

Hooda struggled in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, scored a century in the Emerging Teams Cup and since then has played just two Ranji Trophy matches.

Maharashtra opener Rituraj Gaekwad averaged 45.62 in the Vijay Hazare Trophy; Punjab’s Anmolpreet Singh scored 314 runs in three innings; the Mumbai pair of Mayank Markande (13 wickets at 27.07) and Tushar Deshpande (15 wickets at 24) are also named; the Odisha slow left-armer Pappu Roy claimed 14 wickets at 18.42 and followed that up with six wickets in two games for India C in the Deodhar Trophy.

The leading run-getter and wicket-taker of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, Abhinav Mukund and Shahbaz Nadeem, are not part of the squad.

The two one-day matches are in Thiruvananthapuram on January 18 and 20.

England Lions then play five one-day matches with India A in Thiruvananthapuram between January 23-31, followed by two unofficial Tests in Wayanad, starting on February 7 and 13.

Board President’s XI: Ishan Kishan (capt/wk), Rituraj Gaekwad, Anmolpreet Singh, Deepak Hooda, Rajat Pattidar, Ricky Bhui, Himmat Singh, Mayank Markande, Jayant Yadav, Pappu Roy, Pankaj Jaiswal, Tushar Deshpande, Navdeep Saini