West Indies and England are coming off from superb wins in warm-up matches © Getty Images
West Indies and England are coming off from superb wins in warm-up matches © Getty Images

With the Round-1 done and dusted, it is now time to head into the Super 10 stage of the ICC Twenty20 (T20) World Cup 2016, India. With the world  gearing up in the battle of the former champions as England take on West Indies in Match No. 15, Super 10 Group 1 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on Wednesday. England who won the trophy way back in 2010 with West Indies lifting it in the next edition in 2012. England, West Indies are clubbed with defending champions Sri Lanka, South Africa and qualifier Afghanistan in Group 1. Both England and West Indies, will want to attain the much needed win, with no breathing space left going into the business end of the tournamentLIVE CRICKET SCORECARD: England vs West Indies, Match No.15, ICC World T20 2016 at Mumbai

England coming in the tournament played a hard fought three-match T20I series against South Africa in South Africa. The hosts owned the English side clinching the series 2-1 with the final match ending in a final ball fiasco. England, led by Eoin Morgan will be high on confidence with his team performing well in T20 format since last year or so winning the T20I series against Pakistan, with much of the bench strength playing in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) and Big Bash League(BBL) meaning their player are well oiled and churned. ALSO READ: England beat MCA XI by 14 runs in warm-up match of World T20 2016 at Mumbai

England which rely on the likes of Alex Hales, Joe Root, Morgan, Jos Buttler and Ben Stokes to provide the team good start and an exceptional ending to their innings. Their bowling will see Liam Plunkett, Chris Jordan, David Willey, Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali taking up responsibilities to keep a check on wickets and run-rate.

West Indies on the other hand will look to gain the faith of the Carribean and global cricket fans, who have seen how murkier the situation in West Indies cricket is turning out to be, with players open protest against their board and dropping themselves from world events. West Indies coming to India, faced a lot of flank back home with West Indies Cricket Board and Player’s Association playing a game of tug of war with the future of its players and national team. ALSO READ: Darren Sammy pulls off thriller as West Indies beat Australia by 3 wickets in ICC World T20 2016 warm-up tie

With Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Darren Bravo withdrawing from the WT20, it only added pressure on the shoulder of skipper Darren Sammy. Sammy has asked his team and players to give it all and emulate their Under-19 team success, who won the ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup last month. Reinforced with Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Sammy (himself) and Andre Russell in the team, they will hope to recreate the magic of the Calypso in Indian subcontinent.

England in both their warm-up matches trounced over New Zealand and Mumbai Cricket Association XI by 6 wickets and 14 runs respectively. Willey took a hat trick playing for MCA XI against his own team England, while Hales and Roy were consistent among the runs in both the games. West Indies on the other hand lost to hosts India in their first warm-up match by 45 runs, chasing a mammoth 186 runs.

Their second match was a thriller with Windies chasing down Australia’s target of 162 runs. To West Indies credit they were hampered by a Josh Hazlewood hattrick, but ably guided to victory by skipper Sammy’s 28 ball 50 not-out. Dwayne was the stand out bowler for them  picking up four wickets for just 21 runs.

West Indies hold clear edge over England in the World T20’s ties, up-staging them three times in as many matches they have featured in against each other. England will definitely want to over turn this poor statistics, while West Indies will look to continue their winning run. With pride and buoyancy up for grabs going into the World T20, Match No.15 between England and West Indies will be another keyboard crunching affair.


England: Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan(c), Jos Buttler(wk), Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Liam Dawson, Reece Topley, Chris Jordan, James Vince, Sam Billings

West Indies: Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Sammy (c), Ashley Nurse, Jason Holder, Jerome Taylor, Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Andre Fletcher, Evin Lewis.

Time: 19:30 IST | 14:00 GMT

(Vishal Mehra is a reporter at CricketCountry, who enjoys his weekly dose of anime, and plays cricket once a white moon. His twitter handle is @vishal_oxyjinn.)