Fakhar Zaman    AFP
Fakhar Zaman AFP

In the ongoing high-octane clash between India and Pakistan in the final of Champions Trophy 2017 at The Oval, Fakhar Zaman became the 1st batsman from the nation to score hundred in any ICC tournament final. Be it Champions Trophy, World Cup, Under-19 World Cup, World T20 or Women s World Cup, Zaman is now the first and only Pakistani batsman to achieve this feat. Three matches back, Zaman made his ODI debut by replacing Ahmed Shahzad in the side against South Africa. He started by scoring 31, followed by consecutive fifties against Sri Lanka and England. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: IND vs PAK, ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Final

With this century, Zaman will not only enter into the record books, but also his name will become immortal whenever there will be talks over India-Pakistan ODI clash. He seems to have chosen the perfect stage to score his maiden international century. Previous best by a Pakistani batsman in an ICC ODI final was 72 by Imran Khan in 1992 World Cup.

Zaman began his knock cautiously alongside his partner Azhar Ali, who got run out because of a misunderstanding between them at the score of 128. After the fall of Azhar, Zaman took the charge and started accelerating. He faced five Indian bowlers and dominated everyone, except Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Zaman faced Bhuvneshwar’s 17 balls and scored only 7. However, Zaman dominated Indian spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja the most, by scoring 78 off the 56 deliveries bowled by them. Although, it was Hardik Pandya who scalped his wicket after scoring 114 off 106.

Zaman also became the 6th batsman to do this in Champions Trophy final after Philo Wallace (103 in 1998), Sourav Ganguly (117 in 2000), Chris Cairns (102* in 2000), Marcus Trescothick (104 in 2004) and Shane Watson (103* in 2009). He is also the 4th opener to do this.