Risabh Pant scored 100 off 32    AFP
Risabh Pant scored 100 off 32 AFP

Rishabh Pant on Sunday played a brilliant knock, scoring a 32-ball century for Delhi against Himachal Pradesh in North Zone’s match in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2017-2018. In doing so, Pant surpassed the likes of Andrew Symonds, Rohit Sharma and David Miller to score the second-fastest T20 hundred. He is now only behind Chris Gayle, who had hit a 30-ball hundred during IPL 2013 for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). With this, two Indians made to the top-five in the fastest-hundreds list in T20s within an interval of 23 days. Rohit holds the record of fastest T20I hundred (35 balls) now, which he shares with Miller.

Player Balls Team
Chris Gayle 30 Royal Challengers Bangalore
Rishabh Pant 32 Delhi
Andrew Symonds 34 Kent
Louis van der Westhuizen 35 Namibia
David Miller 35 South Africa
Rohit Sharma 35 India

Pant hit 8 fours and 12 sixes in his innings as Delhi got to 148 without any loss, winning the match with 8.2 overs still remaining. Pant’s 12 sixes is the most hit by any Indian in T20s in an innings.