All-round Finland thrash Spain by 82 runs in 1st T20I

Finland began the three-match T20I series against Spain on a winning note, beating the visitors by 82 runs in the first T20I of the series at the Kerava National Cricket Ground, Kerava on Saturday.

Finland piled on 185/8 courtesy Aravind Mohan’s 41, Aniketh Pusthay’s 37 and Peter Gallagher’s 34 which was followed by a disciplined bowling attack that bundled out Spain for just 103 runs in 15 overs.

SCORECARD: 1st T20I – Finland vs Spain

Maneesh Chauhan, Shoaib Qureshi, Mohammad Nurul Huda and Hariharan Dandapani claimed two wickets each.

Opting to bat firat Finland lost opener Vanraaj Padhaal in the first over to Ravi Panchal, but skipper Nathan Collins and one down bat Mohan put on 68 runs for the second wicket in 7.2 overs. However, Mohan and Collins (20) departed in a span of five deliveries – taken by Atif Mehmood and Faran Afzal, respectively.


But, Finland rebuilt via Pusthay and Gallagher, who added 55 runs for the fourth wicket before Chauhan’s 5-ball 15 and Jonathan Scamans’ 7-ball 12 pushed Finland’s total to 185/8.

In reply, Spain never got going, losing three wickets inside the powerplay overs. They lost opener Paul Hennessey for a duck – without out facing a ball- while Yasir Ali was claimed by Chauhan for a six-ball duck. Opener Afzal made 13 before falling to Chauhan.

Spain lost two more wickets inside the 9th over with skipper Christian Munoz-Mills (3) and Awais Ahmed (9) falling to Shoaib Qureshi. Kuldeep Karan (23) and Panchal (23) added respectability to Spain’s total with handy knocks down the order.

Brief Scores: Finland 185/8 (Aravind Mohan 41, Aniketh Pusthay 37; Paul Hennessey 2/23) beat Spain (Kuldeep Karan 23, Ravi Panchal 23; Hariharan Dandapani 2/6) by 82 runs.