India were the winners of Champions Trophy in 2013 © Getty Images
India were the winners of Champions Trophy in 2013 © Getty Images

ICC releases the group for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 and it is the first time West Indies have not been included in the tournament. The Tournament starts India is the defending champions for the tournament. They won the tournament in 2013 at England. Next year’s ICC Champions Trophy will also be hosted in England. England were runners up of the Tournament in the last edition. West Indies’ exclusion from the tournament raises eyebrows. They were not able to qualify for the Tournament as they failed to make it into top 8 in ICC rankings. The Tournament will be held in June 2017. ALSO READ: India to begin title defence against Pakistan in Champions Trophy 2017

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, England and Bangladesh

Group B: India, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Pakistan

This will be a good news for India, Pakistan fans as they go head to head in Group B. This group features 3 subcontinent teams and South Africa. India will be looking to extend their lead of 12-2 against Pakistan in ICC events. They will be under pressure going into the tournament as defending champions. There will be lot of expectations from Bangladesh as they have emerged as better team than before. Mustafizur Rahman will be a player to watch out for Bangladesh as he has remained a mystery to the batsman.

Here’s the full schedule:

Date Match Venue
Jun-01 England vs Bangladesh (d) The Oval
Jun-02  Australia vs New Zealand (d) Edgbaston
Jun-03 Sri Lanka vs South Africa (d) The Oval
Jun-04 India vs Pakistan (d) Edgbaston
Jun-05  Australia vs Bangladesh (d/n) The Oval
Jun-06 England vs New Zealand (d) Cardiff
Jun-07 Pakistan vs South Africa, Edgbaston (d/n) Edgbaston
Jun-08  India vs Sri Lanka (d) The Oval
Jun-09 New Zealand vs Bangladesh (d) Cardiff
Jun-10 England vs Australia (d) Edgbaston
Jun-11 India vs South Africa (d) The Oval
Jun-12 Sri Lanka vs Pakistan (d) Cardiff
Jun-14 First semi-final (A1 v B2) (d) Cardiff
Jun-15 Second semi-final (A2 v B1) (d) Edgbaston
Jun-18 Final, The Oval (d) The Oval
Jun-19 Reserve day (d)

Only Australia have won the tournament for two times. India and Sri Lanka have won one tournament each and shared one due to rain in 2002 tournament. South Africa were the winners in the first edition of the tournament in 1998 held at Bangladesh. New Zealand and West Indies have won the tournament once in 2000 and 2004 respectively.

Note: (d) refers to Day games and (d/n) refers Day-Night clashes.