ICC T20 World Cup 2012: Sri Lanka-New Zealand winner to be decided by Super Over after thrilling tie

Tillakaratne Dilshan dives to avoid a run-out Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Pallekele: Sep 27, 2012

Sri Lanka opener Tillakaratne Dilshan played an innings of substance though New Zealand managed to hang on in the final over to tie their first Super Eight match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2012 at Pallekele on Thursday. The winner will be decide through a super over

Lahiru Thirimanne scored four of the penultimate-over but a run-out off the final ball saw the match end in a tie.

Earlier Dilshan scored a breezy 76 off 53 balls which included five fours and three sixes but got run-out.

New Zealand clawed back into the match with two quick wickets of Kumar Sangakkara and Jevan Mendis.

New Zealand sniffed hoped after Sri Lanka lost their second wicket following a terrible mix-up which saw Kumar Sangakkara fall short of his crease to get run-out.

The Kiwis further strengthened their hold over the match when James Franklin had Mendis caught by Ross Taylor.

Earlier, Mahela Jayawardene and Tillakaratne Dilshan got Sri Lankan off to a flyer before Daniel Vettori caught the former off Jacob Oram six runs short of a well deserved half-century.

Dilshan was the aggressive of the two smashing 16 run of the first over. He and Jayawardene then got into the act, flicking Tim South for a six in the third over and then hitting a six and a four off Kyle Mills in the fourth over.

Brief Scores: New Zealand 174 for 7 in 20 overs (Rob Nicol 58, Martin Guptill 38; Nuwan Kulasekara 2 for 3, Akila Dananjaya Perera 2 for 30) vs Sri Lanka 174 in 20 overs (Tillakaratne Dilshan 76, Mahela Jayawardene 44, Jacob Oram 1 for 26)

Catch live score and ball-by-ball commentary of the ICC T20 World Cup 2012 Super Eight match between Sri Lanka and New Zealand, here

Points Table

ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2012: Match time table with group details