ICC Women's World Cup 2017 Trophy    Getty Images
ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 Trophy Getty Images

Moving away from ICC Champions Trophy 2017, it is time to welcome the women for the mega-event of World Cup. The 11th edition of the ICC Women’s World Cup flags off from June 24 to July 23 in England. While the venues where the matches will be held are Bristol, Taunton, Derby and Leicester, the final will be played at the Mecca of cricket Lord s. The 2014-16 Women s Championship saw Australia, New Zealand, England and West Indies find a spot directly to the World Cup while India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and South Africa had to fight it out in World Cup Qualifiers held on February 2017 at Sri Lanka.

13 umpires and a panel of three match referees will officiate in the tournament that includes four women umpires. Former England cricketer Sue Redfern has set history by playing in World Cup and also officiating in the global event. Jacqueline Williams from West Indies, Kathy Cross from New Zealand and Claire Polosak are the other female umpires along with Sue. A total of 31 matches will be played in the 28-day tournament. The entire fixture was announced on March 8 to coincide with Women s day. Ahead of the main tournament, the teams played two warm-match each between June 19 to June 22.

After a month long league stage, India have made it to their second final in the World Cup by stunning defending champions Australia at Derby in the second semi-final. England, meanwhile, have found their way home by shocking South Africa in the semi-final. The last time India reached the final stage was in 2005 where they were humbled by Australia. With the tides changed, India will look to make Mithali Raj’s last World Cup count and life their maiden World Cup trophy.

Teams M W L T NR P NRR
England Women 7 6 1 0 0 12 1.295
Australia Women 7 6 1 0 0 12 1.004
India Women 7 5 2 0 0 10 0.669
South Africa Women 7 4 2 0 1 9 1.183
New Zealand Women 7 3 3 0 1 7 0.309
West Indies Women 7 2 5 0 0 4 -1.522
Sri Lanka Women 7 1 6 0 0 2 -1.099
Pakistan Women 7 0 7 0 0 0 -1.93

*This table was updated after the conclusion of the semi-finals between ENG W and SA W, IND W and AUS W