India A one-day squads announced for South Africa A series, Pandey and Iyer to share captaincy duties
Manish Pandey (left) and Shreyas Iyer (AFP Photo)

Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer have been named captains of two different India A squads for a five-match one-day series against South Africa A beginning later this month.

The BCCI has named two 15-man squad for the series.

Pandey will be the captain for the first three matches, Iyer will replace him for the remainder of the series.

Eight players – Shubman Gill, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur and Nitish Rana – have been included in both the 15-man squads. While Jharkhand’s Ishan Kishan has been named wicketkeeper for the first three matches, Sanju Samson will take over the duties for the final two matches.

India legspinner Yuzvendra Chahal will also be part of the series, playing in the first three matches.

The series gets underway from August 29 with all matches to be played in Thiruvananthapuram.

India A team for 1st, 2nd and 3rd one-day: Manish Pandey (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Nitish Rana

India A team for 4th and 5th one-day: Shreyas Iyer (captain), Shubman Gill, Prashant Chopra, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Nitish Rana, Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Ishan Porel


1st One Day: 29 August 2019

2nd One Day: 31 August 2019

3rd One Day: 2 September 2019

4th One Day: 4 September 2019

5th One Day: 6 September 2019