India A vs West Indies A: Ruturaj Gaikwad misses century by one run, Shubman Gill fires again in 4-1 series win
Ruturaj Gaikwad was dismissed for 99. (Image: Twitter/@BCCIdomestic)

India A ended their one-day series against West Indies A with an emphatic eight-wicket win in Antigua Monday to claim the contest 4-1.

Set a target of 237 after two wickets each to Deepak Chahar, Rahul Chahar and Navdeep Saini – each of whom earned call-ups to the senior India side on Sunday – the visiting team finished the job in 33 overs thanks to half-centuries from Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill and Shreyas Iyer.

Having opted to bat, West Indies A were provided a good platform from Sunil Ambris (61 off 52 balls) before the home team collapsed from 77/0 to 103/6. Sherfane Rutherford’s 70-ball 65 helped get the total to 236, with help from Khary Pierre who made 35* off 34 balls.

(ALSO READ: Shubman Gill will have to wait for his turn: MSK Prasad)

In India A’s chase, Gill hit 69 off 40 balls to dominate an opening stand of 110 with Gaikwad, who was dismissed for 99 off 89 balls. Iyer remained not out on 61 from 64 balls, having hit three fours and a couple of sixes.

Gill’s innings contained eight fours and three sixes, Gaikwad’s 11 fours and three sixes.

(ALSO READ: Who is Rahul Chahar?)

This was Gill’s third fifty of the series, which saw him finish as the leading run-getter with 218 at 54.50. Next was Gaikwad with 207 at 51.75, followed by Iyer with 187 at 62.33.

The series now moves to red-ball mode, with India A playing West Indies A in the first of three four-day matches from July 24 at North Sound.

Brief scores: India A 237/2 in 33 overs (Gaikwad 99, Gill 69, Iyer 61*) beat West Indies A 236 (Rutherford 65, Ambris 61) by eight wickets