India, Pakistan feature in same group in ICC Champions Trophy 2013

India last played Pakistan in the 2011 ICC World Cup at Mohali Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

London: Aug 21, 2012

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Tuesday announced the full schedule of ICC Champions Trophy 2013 to be hosted in England. The tournament will feature the top eight One-Day International teams.

India will take on South Africa in the opener on June 6 at Cardiff. South Africa have won the tournament in 1998 while India were the joint winners in 2002.

Cardiff, Edgbaston and the Oval will host four matches each of the group stage. Group A will feature Australia, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka while India, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies contesting Group B.

Top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals. The Oval and Cardiff will host the two sem-final clashes.

“This will be an incredible opportunity for fans to see the world’s very best One-Day sides in action over the space of less than three weeks and the fixture schedule has thrown up a host of exciting head-to-head contests,” said Steve Elworthy, Tournament Director.

“The format means every match counts and all eight teams will feel that they are capable of winning the tournament in a competition which is set to be one of the highlights of the 2013 summer, ” Elworthy was quoted as saying by the

Tickets for the tournament are expected to go on sale from early November 2012.

Full Schedule:

June 6, 2013: India v South Africa, Cardiff (Day)

June 7: West Indies v Pakistan, Oval (Day)

June 8: England v Australia, Edgbaston (Day)

June 9: Sri Lanka v New Zealand, Cardiff (Day)

June 10: Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston (D/N)

June 11: India v West Indies, Oval (Day)

June 12: Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston (D/N)

June 13: England v Sri Lanka, Oval (D/N)

June 14: West Indie v South Africa, Cardiff (Day)

June 15: India v Pakistan, Edgbaston (Day)

June 16: England v New Zealand, Cardiff (Day)

June 17: Sri Lanka v Australia, Oval (D/N)

June 19: Semi finals A1 v B2, Oval (Day)

June 20: Semi finals A2 v B1, Cardiff (Day)

June 23: Final, Edgbaston (Day).